“Seeing Ourselves Through the Eyes of a Friendly and Thoughtful Evangelical”

A prominent Mormon author, Daniel C Peterson, has published an article on Mormon Interpreter what Evangelical, Richard Mouw, has written about Mormons in his book. I am familiar with Professor Mouw’s work, and needless to say, I am very pleased with the way he has spoken to us about our views on theology and life. Of course, I have my criticisms, but that can hold off until a later blog. He is a very great guy and I would love to get to know him in person. Of course, being an obscure boy on the internet, I don’t think I will ever get such an opportunity.

But I think he’s done a great job opening up honest discussion between Mormons and Evangelicals. I mean, let’s face it, we’ve never had the greatest history. But I think my, along with Dr. Peterson’s, highlight of what Professor Mouw has written was his formal apology towards the Mormons was very comforting. “Let me state it clearly,” Mouw said. “We evangelicals have sinned against you.”

Of course, there were those who did not agree with Mr. Mouw, as Daniel C. Peterson explains, “Which is putting it mildly.”

“I was there in the Tabernacle that evening, and to me his apology was, by far, the highlight of the evening. (His own comments on that “Tabernacle Apology” occur on pages 1-4 of Talking with Mormons.) A [Page 98]number of evangelicals disagreed, though. Which is putting it mildly. Why were they so upset? Because the man offering the apology was not only one of them, but an unusually prominent and credible one of them.”

There is still a lot of work to do and a lot of friends to be made between Evangelicals and Mormons. With faith, diligence, patience, and above all, love and kindness, I believe that we will one day see what unites us rather than what separates us.

http://www.mormoninterpreter.com/seeing-ourselves-through-the-eyes-of-a-friendly-and-thoughtful-evangelical/

Leave a Reply

