The First Book of Nephi: Chapters 2 and 3

I was really sick yesterday, so I didn’t comment on the 1 Nephi 2. So I will do so today, and I will also comment on chapter 3.

1 Nephi 2

1 Nephi 3

I, Nephi, being exceedingly young, nevertheless being large in stature, and also having great desires to know of the mysteries of God, wherefore, I did cry unto the Lord; and behold he did visit me, and did soften my heart that I did believe all the words which had been spoken by my father; wherefore, I did not rebel against him like unto my brothers. (1 Nephi 2:16)

We learn from Nephi’s account that prayer can reveal Gods will unto us. There are many examples where prayer reveals truth unto us. The most common and quoted one that comes to mind is Matthew 7:7 (Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you:)

 

Garden
Christ in the Garden of Gethsemane, Heinrich Hofmann, 1890. Christ demonstrates humility calling upon God the Father. 

In 1 Nephi chapter 3, Lehi commands his sons to retrieve the plates and bring them to him so that they might have the word of God with them. Lamen and Lemuel doubt that they would be able to do this. In fact, they were so relentless in their doubt, that even after an angel had appeared to them, they “began to murmur, saying: How is it possible that the Lord will deliver Laban into our hands? Behold, he is a mighty man, and he can command fifty, yea, even he can slay fifty; then why not us?” (1 Nephi 3:31)

 
The Lord, of course, guides our path by the power of the Holy Ghost when we put our trust in Him.

 

Leave a Reply

