The First Book of Nephi Chapter Seven

1 Nephi 7

tumblr_n3xo8gGCvV1qmvtcro1_500
By raising Lazarus from the dead before Thy Passion,/Thou Didst confirm the universal resurrection, o Christ God!, Like the Children with the palm of victory,/ o Vanquisher of Death:/ Hosanna in the highest!/ Blesses is He that comes in the name of the Lord! -Troparion of the Feast, Sung on both Lazarus Saturday and Palm Sunday of the Greek Orthodox Church

1. 

Shortly after they were commanded to return to Jerusalem, Lamen and Lemuel, the brothers of Nephi, who are also the sons of the prophet Lehi, are reluctant to do so.

how is it that ye have forgotten that the Lord is able to do all things according to his will, for the children of men, if it so be that they exercise faith in him? Wherefore, let us be faithful to him. (1 Nephi 1:12)

Our articles of faith is memorized, expanded on (in an almost Rabbinic sense), and written about probably more than any other LDS document that we have (save, of course, the Book of Mormon). Yet, is the most ignored among polemics of the LDS faith, and is hardly ever referenced.

Articles of Faith 1:4 reads

We believe that the first principles and ordinances of the Gospel are: first, Faith in the Lord Jesus Christ; second,Repentance; third, Baptism by immersion for the remission of sins; fourth, Laying on of hands for the gift of the Holy Ghost.

Faith in Christ comes first. And if we can do this, and have faith in His Atonement, His Plan of Happiness, and His Eternal Power, then everything else will follow.

2.

The negligent brothers grow so overwhelming ranged, that they seek to do Nephi harm. They even sought to “bind” Nephi with “cords” and sought to “take away my life, that they might leave me in the wilderness to be devoured by the wild beasts.” (1 Nephi 7:16)

The bands were soon loosened after Nephi had “prayed unto the Lord.” Afterwards, Nephi has such compassion for his brothers, that he “forgave them all that they had done, and I did exhort them all that they would pray unto the Lord their God for forgiveness.”(1 Nephi 7:21)

Such tender mercies Nephi showed to his brothers who had the intent to kill. And such tender mercies does Christ have for us. Have we sinned against our God? Have we fallen short from His glory? I can only speak for myself. And the answer is, obviously, yes. Everyday I need to seek Gods guidance and His power. When I read the Book of Mormon and the Bible, that power and guidance is strengthened in my life. And knowing that Christ forgave me for my follies and my shortcomings, I know that I too must forgive my neighbors.

I’ve made mistakes. And understanding somewhat human nature, I will continue to make mistakes. But I have confidence in my God and my Savior, Jesus Christ, that these mistakes will be washed away, clean, and that my sins, which are as “scarlet,” should be gone. I’m thankful for repentance and our ability to change. I’m thankful for a God whose arm is “stretched out” and who corrects us via the Holy Spirit in our times of folly.

3.

Peterson’s commentary, which, from time to time, I include a link to.

http://www.patheos.com/blogs/danpeterson/2016/01/bom-1-nephi-7.html#st_refDomain=www.facebook.com&st_refQuery=/

 

Leave a Reply

